Watch Our YouTube Channel
It is currently Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:50 pm

All times are UTC

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 5:39 am 

Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 3:56 am
Posts: 462
The Championships, Wimbledon, commonly known simply as Wimbledon, is the oldest tennis tournament in the world, and is widely considered the most prestigious.

The search engine Google is showing this animated Doodle in many countries for the 140th Anniversary of Wimbledon championships on 3rd july 2017.

It has been held at the All England Club in Wimbledon, London, since 1877 and is played on outdoor grass courts.Wimbledon consists of five main events, four junior events and seven invitation events

Wimbledon is considered the world's premier tennis tournament and the priority of the Club is to maintain its leadership. To that end a long-term plan was unveiled in 1993, intended to improve the quality of the event for spectators, players, officials and neighbours.

Wimbledon is one of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments, the others being the Australian Open, the French Open and the US Open.

The tournament traditionally took place over two weeks in late June and early July, starting on the third Monday in June and culminating with the Ladies' and Gentlemen's Singles Finals, scheduled for the Saturday and Sunday at the end of the second week.

The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club is a private club founded on 23 July 1868, originally as "The All England Croquet Club". Its first ground was off Worple Road, Wimbledon.

The inaugural 1877 Wimbledon Championship started on 9 July 1877 and the Gentlemen's Singles was the only event held. It was won by Spencer Gore, an old Harrovian rackets player, from a field of 22. About 200 spectators paid one shilling each to watch the final.

Though properly called "The Championships, Wimbledon", depending on sources the event is also known as "The All England Lawn Tennis Championships", "The Wimbledon Championships" or simply "Wimbledon".

From 1912 to 1924, the tournament was recognized by the International Lawn Tennis Federation as the "World Grass Court Championships"

Main events
Centre Court with open roof at the 2010 Championships
The five main events, and the number of players (or teams, in the case of doubles) are:
Gentlemen's Singles (128)
Ladies' Singles (128)
Gentlemen's Doubles (64)
Ladies' Doubles (64)
Mixed Doubles (48)

Junior events
The four junior events and the number of players or teams are:
Boys' Singles (64)
Girls' Singles (64)
Boys' Doubles (32)
Girls' Doubles (32)
No mixed doubles event is held at this level.

Invitation events
The seven invitational events and the number of pairs are:
Gentlemen's Invitation Doubles (8 pairs Round Robin)
Ladies' Invitation Doubles (8 pairs Round Robin)
Senior Gentlemen's Invitation Doubles (8 pairs Round Robin)
Gentlemen's Wheelchair Singles
Ladies' Wheelchair Singles
Gentlemen's Wheelchair Doubles (4 pairs)
Ladies' Wheelchair Doubles (4 pairs)

Learn Web Development | Latest Technology News |Motivational Quotes

Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

All times are UTC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: